My favourite photo…

People often ask me “what is your favourite photo?” – a vague and stupid question but I can see why a person would ask, I’d be interested in the answer too.

There are two ways to interpret this question: what if my favourite photograph I’ve taken, and what is my favourite photograph someone else has taken. Depending on what mood I’m in the day you ask I’ll either be cheeky and answer with the latter or give you my proper answer.

What is your favourite photo that you haven’t taken?
Well…this is a tough one. Mainly because my answer to this one is constantly changing. I have two favourite photographs at this moment in time. Firstly, a shot of Coldplay lead singer, Chris Martin taken by the extremely talented Peter Neil from http://shootthesound.com/

Image

And my second favourite photo; taken by Pete Souza of President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama the night after the president’s inauguration:

Image

Both photographs are, in my opinion, visually stunning and they both captured the moment in time flawlessly. Both photographers are inspirations of mine.

What is your favourite photograph you’ve taken yourself?
The one I’m going to take tomorrow. Simple.

But unfortunately, it’s not that simple for most people. Everybody wants me to actually pick a photo so here goes, my most recent favourite photo (this is guaranteed to change in a few weeks but ah well!).:

Image

This is my photograph of “The Riptide Movement” performing live in The Academy Main Room in Dublin, Ireland. This is currently my favourite photo as I feel I really captured the moment and the atmosphere of the venue. A video containing footage from the gig can be found here:

Have a look for me in the photographer’s pit from 7:20 onwards! I’m wearing a wine coloured hoody!

Now, hopefully that clears things up a bit.

Published by

Stuart Comerford

Award-winning photographer. Writer/Director of the feature film "The Kids Aren't Alright".

One thought on “My favourite photo…”

Leave a Reply

