Band Photoshoot – Checkpoint

On Thursday I had the pleasure of shooting this great upcoming band in Dublin: “Checkpoint” – http://www.facebook.com/CheckpointPunk

My phone had been telling me all week that Thursday was to be the worst day of the week in regards to the weather, it was meant to rain heavily all day. It’s no surprise to me that it wasn’t raining but it was still a pretty dull day, there wasn’t much going on in the sky and everything was just pretty crappy if I’m honest.

Now, the photoshoot, went reasonably well. I’m happy with some of the photos but wish I would’ve shot some others in a different way or not used a flash. I’m still getting to grips with using a flash for fill light and I just don’t like the look of it, is it just me? Everything looks flat. I think I’ll stick with natural light and reflectors unless I have something to bounce the flash off. (Waiting on my order of a light stand + umbrella too!).

Checkpoint are a great bunch, they’re load of fun to be around and I love every second with them. You can probably tell from the photos that it wasn’t the most routine photoshoot ever, I really just followed them and they naturally started playing to the camera. Only a few shots were posed such as the ones on the steps and the ones sliding down the rails. Most of the poses were their ideas ideas too, I gave little direction which I find alright when shooting a group of people who like the camera and who like to have fun.

I’ve had this idea for a while, to record my edit workflow and speed it up to some music. I decided to do it for this shoot and I might do it for most shoots I do from now on, maybe a video of some of my gig edits too! The video is my hour of editing condensed into just over 5 minutes, I didn’t capture a few minor photoshop edit I did (mainly all the clone tool to remove things that were bugging me) as I did that today instead of yesterday.
You may notice that not all the photos in the video are in this post, I just picked my favourites for this post. All the images can be found on my Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/StuartComerfordPhotography

My kit for the shoot was the Canon 60D, Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8, Canon 85mm F/1.8 and Canon 430EX II.

Anyway, here’s the video and the snaps!

Published by

Stuart Comerford

Award-winning photographer. Writer/Director of the feature film "The Kids Aren't Alright".

Leave a Reply

