tUnE-YaRdS, Micachu & the Shapes and Last Days of 1984 @ Vicar Street

On Friday I was asked if I was free to shoot this gig in Vicar Street. Of course, I do little to nothing with my life so I snapped up the opportunity to shoot in an instant.

It was a decent gig. Last Days of 1984 opened and played a very impressive set, unfortunately the lighting on them wasn’t great and I wasn’t actually there to shoot them (I was just there because I’m always worried about being late so am there when the doors open, without fail) so I didn’t really get many shots of them although I wish I had’ve.

Next up were Micachu & the Shapes… I put my ear plugs in and started shooting. They were completely motionless on stage. But at least they had some good lighting.

And then, the big dogs: tUnE-YaRdS. I was only given 2 songs to shoot (pretty shit, especially since the first song was just her screaming – I can’t believe it counted as a song). The lighting wasn’t the best but I made do with what was available. Once I was kicked out of the pit I stuck around for a little while to enjoy the rest of their set, they put on a pretty good performance.

My kit for the night was: Canon 60D, Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8, Canon 50mm F/1.8 II, Canon 70-200mm F/2.8L.

This gig was shot for State.ie , big thanks to them for the opportunity and head over to http://state.ie/ to check out their stuff!

Here’s the shots:

Published by

Stuart Comerford

Award-winning photographer. Writer/Director of the feature film "The Kids Aren't Alright".

Leave a Reply

