The Kids Aren’t Alright – Feature Film

Hello! Long time no blog. There’s been quite a lot that’s happened since I last came near this blog, and after so much happened I really strayed away from anything in the creative industry as it reached a point where I didn’t feel joy from it, it just felt like work – and that’s not a good feeling to have.

Developing my work in the film industry really pulled away from my personal development as a photographer, but I’m now getting back on track to return to developing as a photographer as I’m finally starting to feel that creative pull again – see! time really does fix everything!

I wanted to share something with you, as  people interested in my photographic work weren’t necessarily the same audience that watched my films, but I wanted to cross the two over for a moment. It’s coming up on the year anniversary of my feature film “The Kids Aren’t Alright” – this was the main thing that drew me away from enjoying my time as a creator. It was such a huge project to undertake and took up 3 years of my life to finish, and now that I’m nearly a full year removed from it being done and not having to think about it, I’m starting to look back on it very fondly.

It still baffles me that this was something which myself and some friends made…an entire feature film that can be shown in a cinema, yet we chose to release it on the internet. While I, like everyone else in the world, enjoy going to the cinema, I’m even more passionate about breaking down the walls between tradition and progression, and everything I’ve done creatively on the internet is attributed to that in one way or another – be it finding a new means of distribution, expressing a viewpoint that goes unheard pop culture, or opening doors to something that is usually kept very secret.

The Kids Aren’t Alright, 2016

With “The Kids Aren’t Alright”, myself and everyone on the creative team felt it necessary to find a way of distributing this that made it as open and reachable to as many people as possible. None of us expected to make anything off the back of it, it was entirely a passion project and a way to turn to people who told us we couldn’t do it, and rub it in their faces.

We decided to host the entire thing on YouTube, with no qualms about releasing it in a monetized format where we could benefit from it. I believe it’s important to give those who want to see it, the facility to undertake the experience without putting themselves out. Honestly, the whole point of doing something like this is to do it for yourself, and releasing it in this format gives us no gain and gives everyone who wants to, the chance to enjoy what we spent 3 years on.

“The Kids Aren’t Alright” released on April 16 2016 exclusively on YouTube. The full feature is available below.

 

 

Published by

Stuart Comerford

Award-winning photographer. Writer/Director of the feature film "The Kids Aren't Alright".

Leave a Reply

